ANOTHER CH"EATING" DAY!
Yes, it was a "new day" yesterday, but I didn't make the most of it. Another cheating day. Since I hadn't walked yesterday morning, we waited until 5 PM when it was ever-so-slightly cooler (92 degrees insted of 96) and hit the golf course. Bob plays and I walk the 9 holes. Well, that's the plan. The only problem is that if someone is behind us, I can't walk because it's too slow. And that's what happened. I walked most of the holes, but doubt it was the 2 miles I aim for.
We finished at 7 PM and our choice was to go home and have a spinach salad (again), or "something else". We chose the "something else". We rationalized that we could go to our local buffet and only eat meat and vegetables. Bad idea - this was like an alcoholic going to a bar for a Coke. We started out just fine. I had broccoli, salmon, and green beans. Then Bob got some macaroni and cheese, and that did it - I caved. I got mashed potatoes and gravy. Then Bob got apple strudel with ice cream and I got carrot cake and a sugar cookie. Well, what can I say? I blew it . . . again.
To make ourselves feel better afterwards (we were stuffed), we went home, got the convertible and drove downtown to walk. The photo at left is misleading because it was late and dark, and no one was there. We walked about 1/2 mile. We must have shrunk our stomachs because the little we ate (for us anyway) shouldn't have made us feel so full. So I guess that's a good thing.
My problem is that I awake every morning with good intentions. But I'm not hungry in the morning, nor am I a daytime eater, so it's not difficult for me not to eat anything until about 5 PM. The theory that you should eat little meals all day so you won't be so hungry later on is baloney.
I can eat little meals all day long, then overeat at night too. Or, not eat during the day and still overeat at night. It's the "overeating at night" that's the problem.
Well, today is another day - Memorial Day - and we have no plans. I don't understand people going to picnics in hot weather. I figure it stems from the days when there was no AC. It was probably cooler to
gather in a park under a shade tree than to sit in a hot house. I suppose the other reason is to accommodate large groups of people. Anyway, I've never been too excited about picnics in general - except the eating part. Since I shouldn't be eating anyway, why tempt myself with potato chips, hot dogs, hamburgers, potato salad and all the other picnic things I love.
So I haven't walked today which, of course, means spending the day thinking about where to walk. I suppose I will walk the track in the park later when it cools off.
Yes, it was a "new day" yesterday, but I didn't make the most of it. Another cheating day. Since I hadn't walked yesterday morning, we waited until 5 PM when it was ever-so-slightly cooler (92 degrees insted of 96) and hit the golf course. Bob plays and I walk the 9 holes. Well, that's the plan. The only problem is that if someone is behind us, I can't walk because it's too slow. And that's what happened. I walked most of the holes, but doubt it was the 2 miles I aim for.
We finished at 7 PM and our choice was to go home and have a spinach salad (again), or "something else". We chose the "something else". We rationalized that we could go to our local buffet and only eat meat and vegetables. Bad idea - this was like an alcoholic going to a bar for a Coke. We started out just fine. I had broccoli, salmon, and green beans. Then Bob got some macaroni and cheese, and that did it - I caved. I got mashed potatoes and gravy. Then Bob got apple strudel with ice cream and I got carrot cake and a sugar cookie. Well, what can I say? I blew it . . . again.
To make ourselves feel better afterwards (we were stuffed), we went home, got the convertible and drove downtown to walk. The photo at left is misleading because it was late and dark, and no one was there. We walked about 1/2 mile. We must have shrunk our stomachs because the little we ate (for us anyway) shouldn't have made us feel so full. So I guess that's a good thing.My problem is that I awake every morning with good intentions. But I'm not hungry in the morning, nor am I a daytime eater, so it's not difficult for me not to eat anything until about 5 PM. The theory that you should eat little meals all day so you won't be so hungry later on is baloney.
I can eat little meals all day long, then overeat at night too. Or, not eat during the day and still overeat at night. It's the "overeating at night" that's the problem.Well, today is another day - Memorial Day - and we have no plans. I don't understand people going to picnics in hot weather. I figure it stems from the days when there was no AC. It was probably cooler to
gather in a park under a shade tree than to sit in a hot house. I suppose the other reason is to accommodate large groups of people. Anyway, I've never been too excited about picnics in general - except the eating part. Since I shouldn't be eating anyway, why tempt myself with potato chips, hot dogs, hamburgers, potato salad and all the other picnic things I love.So I haven't walked today which, of course, means spending the day thinking about where to walk. I suppose I will walk the track in the park later when it cools off.


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home