A MOVIE . . .and (oops) POPCORN!
I didn't walk this morning. I never set my alarm anymore unless I have an appointment. I awoke at 10:15 AM. We watched movies last night until late. The very nicest thing about being retired and not having to go to a job, other than the simple fact of not having to put up with people and work associated with a job, is not having to set an alarm. I hate alarm clocks.
But by 10:15 AM it was already 82 degrees and very sunny, so too hot to walk. That means I now have to think of some other way to exercise today and it probably means going out on the golf course with Bob this evening when it cools off, walking in the air-conditioned mall in Augusta (because it's bigger than ours) or walking on the track in the park tonight. I don't like walking in the evening or at night and I don't particularly like mall-walking, so it looks like it will be the golf course or the track.
So let's see, the movies we watched last night: Casanova and The Greatest Game Ever Played. Casanova wasn't quite as bad as we'd heard. It was predictable, mindless and light, sometimes even funny. Nothing to write home about, though.
We'd never heard of The Greatest Game Ever Played. It's a Disney film directed by Bill Paxton and quite good. It's a true story of a young caddy in 1913 who became the youngest amateur to win the U.S. Open. It was one of those inspirational type films
that makes you feel good. I cried - it was good and well worth the rental fee. The interview with the actual man, 70 years-old in 1963, was also quite good. This man remembered every shot of every hole fifty years later.
And I fell off the no-eating wagon last night. I had gotten into this bad habit several years ago of going to a movie theatre and buying a tub of popcorn. I don't stay there to watch a movie, though, I take it home to watch movies. I guess Bob was feeling sorry for me last night, or he wanted some too, but he drove me over to the theatre to buy popcorn - the whole bucket, with "butter". I justified it because we hadn't had dinner - this W
AS dinner, but it was probably a bad idea. I'm ashamed to say we had Milk Duds too. I would hate to get on a scale now and won't for another few days when I've had a chance to eat right again and drink lots of water.
I should also say that the Memorial Day Parade yesterday was very nice for a small town. We parked right next to where we put our chairs under a shady tree. We watched from Park St. right across from the Court House. The parade lasted about 45 minutes.
We were a bit surprised at all the Confederate floats and the Confederate flags. There was nothing anti-American about it, but it was very apparent. Having only lived in South Carolina for six months, we are still trying to understand these strong pro-south feelings that tend to run high around here by some. After the parade, we went to the New Moon for an iced tea. I also got 1/2 sandwich. Again, I shouldn't have, but it just was so pleasant to sit there among the other parade-goers and have a nice lunch.
So all in all, we had a fun day yesterday, but I ate too much, and certainly not South Beach stuff. Well, today is a new day . . .
I didn't walk this morning. I never set my alarm anymore unless I have an appointment. I awoke at 10:15 AM. We watched movies last night until late. The very nicest thing about being retired and not having to go to a job, other than the simple fact of not having to put up with people and work associated with a job, is not having to set an alarm. I hate alarm clocks.But by 10:15 AM it was already 82 degrees and very sunny, so too hot to walk. That means I now have to think of some other way to exercise today and it probably means going out on the golf course with Bob this evening when it cools off, walking in the air-conditioned mall in Augusta (because it's bigger than ours) or walking on the track in the park tonight. I don't like walking in the evening or at night and I don't particularly like mall-walking, so it looks like it will be the golf course or the track.
So let's see, the movies we watched last night: Casanova and The Greatest Game Ever Played. Casanova wasn't quite as bad as we'd heard. It was predictable, mindless and light, sometimes even funny. Nothing to write home about, though.We'd never heard of The Greatest Game Ever Played. It's a Disney film directed by Bill Paxton and quite good. It's a true story of a young caddy in 1913 who became the youngest amateur to win the U.S. Open. It was one of those inspirational type films
that makes you feel good. I cried - it was good and well worth the rental fee. The interview with the actual man, 70 years-old in 1963, was also quite good. This man remembered every shot of every hole fifty years later.And I fell off the no-eating wagon last night. I had gotten into this bad habit several years ago of going to a movie theatre and buying a tub of popcorn. I don't stay there to watch a movie, though, I take it home to watch movies. I guess Bob was feeling sorry for me last night, or he wanted some too, but he drove me over to the theatre to buy popcorn - the whole bucket, with "butter". I justified it because we hadn't had dinner - this W
AS dinner, but it was probably a bad idea. I'm ashamed to say we had Milk Duds too. I would hate to get on a scale now and won't for another few days when I've had a chance to eat right again and drink lots of water.I should also say that the Memorial Day Parade yesterday was very nice for a small town. We parked right next to where we put our chairs under a shady tree. We watched from Park St. right across from the Court House. The parade lasted about 45 minutes.
We were a bit surprised at all the Confederate floats and the Confederate flags. There was nothing anti-American about it, but it was very apparent. Having only lived in South Carolina for six months, we are still trying to understand these strong pro-south feelings that tend to run high around here by some. After the parade, we went to the New Moon for an iced tea. I also got 1/2 sandwich. Again, I shouldn't have, but it just was so pleasant to sit there among the other parade-goers and have a nice lunch.So all in all, we had a fun day yesterday, but I ate too much, and certainly not South Beach stuff. Well, today is a new day . . .


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home